Advisory Panel Members

The Center for Patient Safety’s Advisory Panel serves in an advisory capacity to the Center staff.  Its members represent an array of stakeholders with an interest in improving the safety of care.  Members serve as representatives of their respective stakeholder groups, and help to share and involve their respective stakeholders in the Center’s mission and activities.

View our other committees and panels

Terry L. Seaton, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCPS – CHAIR
St. Louis College of Pharmacy
St. Louis

Greg Alexander, PhD, RN, RAAN, Professor
University of Missouri

Jacque Christmas
Missouri Department of Mental Health
Jefferson City

Connie Clarkston, Regulatory Rep.
Missouri Division of Professional Registration, Healing Arts
Jefferson City

Nancie McAnaugh
LeadingAge Missouri
Jefferson City

Christine E. Crouch, LTC Rep.
Bethesda Southgate
St. Louis

Ron Fitzwater, Pharmacy Rep.
Missouri Pharmacy Association
Jefferson City

Kim Grinston, Regulatory Rep.
Missouri Board of Pharmacy
Jefferson City

Michael Handler, MD
VP, Medical Affairs; CPS Medical Director
SSM St. Joseph Hospital West
Lake Saint Louis

Ellen Harmon, JD MBA RN – Air Amb. Rep.
Associate General Counsel, Air Medical Group Holdings

Janet Head, Academic Rep.
Missouri Area Health Education Center (MAHEC)
A.T.Still University/ATSU

Tom Holloway, Executive Vice President – (Founding Member Rep.)
Missouri State Medical Association
Jefferson City

Barbara Jones MLS, Consumer Rep.
Missouri/Library Advocacy Liaison
J Otto Lottes Health Science Library
University of Missouri

Dean Linneman, MHA, Regulatory Rep.
Division of Health Standards and Licensure
Department of Health and Senior Services
Jefferson City

Jane Moore, CEO, Hospice Rep.
Missouri Hospice & Palliative Care Association
Jefferson City

Catina O’Leary, PhD
President and CEO
Health Literacy Missouri
St. Louis

Shelley Powell, BSN, MHA, FACHE
Health System Rep.
Corporate Manager-Patient Safety
SSM Health Care-Patient Safety and Quality Center

Janet Schaffner, MSN, RN, MA, CPHRM, CPPS
HealthCare Services Group/ Hospital Services Group
Jefferson City

Carol Hudspeth, Home Care Rep.
Missouri Alliance for Home Care
Jefferson City

Lori Scheidt, Regulatory/Consumer Rep.
Missouri Division of Professional
Registration, Nursing
Jefferson City

Sharon Shepherd, Nursing Rep.
Missouri Nurses Association

Lorie Towe, LTC Rep.
Missouri Health Care Association
Jefferson City

Michael Wallace, EMS Rep.
Central Jackson County Fire Protections
Blue Springs

Sarah Willson
Missouri Hospital Association
Jefferson City

Jeanne Serra
Missouri Department of Health
Jefferson City

Center for Patient Safety
Alex Christgen, CPPS
Executive Director
Center for Patient Safety
Email Address:  [email protected]

Eunice Halverson, MA, CPPS
Patient Safety Specialist
[email protected]

Lee Varner, BS EMS, EMT-P, CPPS
Patient Safety Director
[email protected]

Kathryn Wire, JD, MBA, CPHRMCPPS
Project Manager
[email protected]

Jennifer Lux
Program/Office Manager
[email protected]


PSO Case Law: Ungurian v. Beyzman, et al., 2020 PA Super 105:

A recent Pennsylvania case shows how courts narrowly interpret the PSQIA, ignoring the D & A pathway and the clear language of the Final Rule. (Ungurian v. Beyzman, et al., 2020 PA Super 105). The cour

Joint Commission New Sentinel Event Alert 61: Managing the Risks of Direct Oral Anticoagulants:

The Center for Patient Safety wants to share this important harm-prevention advice from The Joint Commission and its Sentinel Event Alert: Managing the Risks of Direct Oral Anticoagulants. The Joint Commis

CPS Safety Watch/Alert – Culture Can Improve the Control of Multi-Drug Resistant Organisms:

Issue: A number of events reported co CPS’ Patient Safety Organization (PSO) demonstrate poor handoff communication about the patients’ infectious disease status Examples include: Patient with

Read More


The Center for Patient Safety believes that collaboration and sharing are the best ways to drive improvement. We strive to provide the right solutions and resources to improve healthcare safety and quality.